Well-trained but not well-behaved

By Cesar Millan

A lot of people think that I’m a dog trainer, but that’s not what I do. I’m a dog behaviorist, which means that I rehabilitate dogs, and I train people. It’s an important distinction, and one that can be hard for people to understand.

“But Cesar,” people say, “You get the dog to behave. Isn’t that the same thing as training?”

Related: Pack Leadership Technique 3: Establish rules, boundaries and limitations.

The short answer is, “No.” Now here’s the longer answer.

I’ve seen very well-trained dogs that still had behavioral issues. These dogs could do a lot of tricks, like sit, shake hands, roll over, or fetch — but still chewed up shoes and furniture, still barked non-stop, and still pulled on the walk.

The purpose of dog training
Training is meant to teach a dog to perform a specific task when given a specific stimulus. It’s the process of associating, say, a word with a behavior. The most common form of training is positive reinforcement. If the dog does the trick, the dog gets a cookie.

A lot of dogs are willing to do anything for that cookie. With enough repetition, you can even get the dog to do the trick without the reward. You say “shake” and they raise their paw. It becomes second nature.

Dog behavioral issues
What dog training does not do is solve behavioral issues. I’m sure many of you reading this have had the experience of calling your dog to come to you — something you’ve trained them to do — but they ignore you because they see a squirrel, or the mailman is invading the dog’s territory, or something else has their attention. In these cases, the training goes right out the window.

Video: Luna Showing Off Her Obedience! | Doberman Pinscher | Top Rated Georgia Obedience Training